This guide details the procedures for extracting raw event parameters from your project and defines each data column using official Apple interface specifications.
To copy MIDI events as tab-delimited text from your project (GarageBand):
- Open the Editor: Select a MIDI region in the Tracks area and choose View > Show Editors (or press
E). - Select the View: Click either the Piano Roll or Score tab in the Editor menu bar.
- Select Events: Click inside the editor grid workspace and choose Edit > Select All (or press
Command–A). - Copy to Clipboard: Choose Edit > Copy (or press
Command–C). - Paste Destination: Open a text document or spreadsheet and choose Edit > Paste (or press
Command–V).
Position::::::: Status::::: Ch: Num:::: Val:::::::: Length/Info:::::
1. 1. 1. 1 Note#EvE 1 G4 74 0. 0. 3. 0
1. 1. 1. 1 Note#EvE 1 G4 74 0. 0. 3. 0
1. 2. 1. 1 Note#EvE 1 C4 57 0. 0. 0. 228
1. 2. 3. 1 Note#EvE 1 E4 68 0. 0. 3. 132
1. 3. 3. 1 Note#EvE 1 E4 68 0. 0. 1. 132
1. 4. 1. 1 Note#EvE 1 C4 57 0. 0. 0. 228
1. 4. 3. 1 Note#EvE 1 G3 57 0. 0. 0. 228
2. 1. 1. 1 Note#EvE 1 D4 68 0. 0. 1. 132
2. 1. 3. 1 Note#EvE 1 D4 68 0. 0. 1. 0
2. 1. 4. 1 Note#EvE 1 D4 68 0. 0. 1. 0
2. 2. 2. 1 Note#EvE 1 C4 75 0. 0. 1. 52
2. 2. 3. 1 Note#EvE 1 D4 68 0. 0. 2. 0
The table structure matches the default parameter layouts defined in the Logic Pro Event List User Guide.
- Parameter: Position
- Format:
Bars . Beats . Divisions . Ticks - Description: Displays the point in time where the event starts [Apple Logic Pro].
- Value Ranges:
- Bars:
1–9999(Project length constraint) - Beats:
1–4(Based on a standard 4/4 time signature) - Divisions:
1–4(Representing 16th-note subdivisions) - Ticks:
1–240(Based on 960 Parts Per Quarter Note / PPQN system clock resolution) [Apple Logic Pro Change Event]
- Bars:
- Parameter: Status
- Format: Alphanumeric String
- Description: Displays the event type [Apple Logic Pro].
- Values:
Note#EvE(The raw clipboard expression representing a standard MIDI Note event),SysEx,Control,PitchBend,ProgChg.
- Parameter: Ch
- Format: Integer
- Description: Displays the MIDI channel of an event [Apple Logic Pro].
- Value Range:
1–16
- Parameter: Num
- Format: Alphanumeric Note Name / Pitch Register
- Description: Displays the MIDI note number (or pitch) [Apple Logic Pro].
- Value Range:
C-2–G8(Corresponding to internal MIDI note integers0–127. Middle C displays asC3, corresponding to note number 60).
- Parameter: Val
- Format: Integer
- Description: Displays the velocity of a note event [Apple Logic Pro].
- Value Range:
1–127(Values specify strike velocity; a value of0is interpreted as a Note Off command).
- Parameter: Length/Info
- Format:
Bars . Beats . Divisions . Ticks - Description: Displays the duration of the note event [Apple Logic Pro].
- Value Ranges:
- Bars:
0–9999 - Beats:
0–3 - Divisions:
0–3 - Ticks:
0–239(Values accumulate incrementally beginning at zero)
- Bars: